TRCA and Partner Municipalities Recognized for Sustainability Work

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) and Nine Partner Municipalities Earn Recognition as Part of Prestigious National Award

Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (TRCA) and nine participating partner municipalities have been recognized by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) with an Honourable Mention for the Sustainable Neighbourhood Action Program (SNAP).

This recognition comes as part of FCM’s 2020 Sustainable Community Awards, which celebrate innovation in environmental initiatives across Canadian cities and communities.

TRCA is proud that SNAP has been recognized with this Honourable Mention for FCM’s Visionary Award, which is granted to projects from across Canada over the past 20 years that have generated long-term community change.

SNAP is a neighbourhood model for sustainable urban renewal and climate action, which is helping make neighbourhoods more resilient.

TRCA, together with municipal and community partners, is currently supporting several SNAPs across the Greater Toronto Area and beyond. The variety of SNAP initiatives include home retrofits for climate preparedness, infrastructure renewal projects that incorporate greater environmental functions, and urban agriculture installations, to name just a few.

The communities of Black Creek, West Bolton, and Bramalea, among others, have benefited as a result of SNAPs working effectively with local residents taking leadership roles.

You can learn more about TRCA’s SNAP program, including how to get involved, HERE.

The nine participating partner municipalities:

  • City of Toronto
  • Regional Municipality of Peel
  • City of Brampton
  • City of Mississauga
  • Town of Caledon

  • Regional Municipality of York
  • City of Richmond Hill
  • City of Markham
  • City of Vaughan

About FCM’s Sustainable Community Awards

FCM’s Sustainable Community Awards celebrate the most innovative environmental initiatives in Canadian cities and communities of all sizes. Through these awards, FCM recognizes and celebrates sustainability leaders and trailblazers in municipalities across Canada.

The awards, delivered by FCM’s Green Municipal Fund (GMF), showcase outstanding municipal projects in asset management, brownfields, climate change, energy, transportation, waste, water, and sustainable neighbourhood revitalization and design.