Conservation Ontario



Conservation Ontario is the collective of the 36 Conservation Authorities in the province of Ontario. Conservation Ontario brings together over 800 members and 1000 staff working together to achieve common goals.

Most of southern Ontario, as well as the more developed areas of Northern Ontario, are within the boundary of a Conservation Authority. Collectively, the jurisdictions include 90% of the province’s population.

Conservation Ontario is governed by a council consisting of two representatives from each of the 36 Conservation Authorities. Council directs the activities of the staff and a variety of working groups, task forces and committees focusing on various areas of common interest to all Conservation Authorities.

Conservation Authorities of Ontario: Mandate

Conservation Authorities were created in 1946 by an Act of the Ontario legislature and are mandated to ensure the conservation, restoration and responsible management of Ontario’s water, land and natural habitats through programs that balance human, environmental and economic needs.

Click here for links to Ontario’s Conservation Authorities


  • to ensure that Ontario’s rivers, lakes and streams are properly safeguarded, managed and restored
  • to protect, manage and restore Ontario’s woodlands, wetlands and natural habitat
  • to develop and maintain programs that will protect life and property from natural hazards such as flooding and erosion
  • to provide opportunities for the public to enjoy, learn from and respect Ontario’s natural environment
  • Conservation Ontario
  • Conservation Authorities Act